My first Japanese Sushi…… (meh)

OK, I know, I know almost three months in and I have not eaten sushi, well I have now!  I know people wet their pants about Sushi but…. is it really THAT nice?!?  I am all about exploring Japanese culture but is sushi really something people should get so excited about?  I will go back and maybe it will impress me more but for my first visit it gets a measly 35% good percentage.  I did kind of jump right in at the deep end though perhaps!  I managed 6 dishes.  Most people around me managed double or even triple that!

I had some:

Taco – Octopus (chewed for about 7 solid minutes to digest this)

Tamago – (omelet with sugar/cake.  Quite nice but not really sushi is it?)

Tekka Maki – (red tuna meat, easiest sushi and quite nice)

Baniku – Raw horse with ginger sauce (please don’t hate me Irish people for eating an beautiful innocent horse, I had to try it!! It was chewy and just wrong to be honest.  Never again.)

Zuwaigan – Crab (I liked this)

This Sushi restaurant was very near the Asagaya (Chuo Line) south JR exit in the corner.  No idea what it was called!  It was recommended and cheap.

Photo-0192

Tekka Maki

Photo-0193

Not mine

Photo-0194

Salmon

Photo-0195

Fish eggs... crunchy apparently!

Photo-0196

Raw horse

Photo-0197

Tomo - housemate

Photo-0198

Taca - housemate

Photo-0200

Me

Photo-0201

men - u

~ by redegg on June 11, 2009.

3 Responses to “My first Japanese Sushi…… (meh)”

  1. In the years I’ve been in Japan, I can count the number of times that I’ve been to eat sushi on one hand.
    The first time, well, you go with Japanese mates to see what all the fuss is about.
    I only ate fish and wasn’t impressed, tbh.
    Other than that, I’ve been with other foreigners that are quite new to Japan and just have to try it, so we go together.

    Good to see I’m not alone in my tastes.

    Wouldn’t even consider eating whale, horse or octopus.

  2. Whale – could not touch that.. Apparently the fat melts when fried! Also they serve live octupus in some restuarants and you need to be careful swallowing as the suckers still work! So messed up.

  3. I hate fish, but last week I had chicken sushi and it’s my new favourite thing! Apparently this makes me a filthy Westerner with no sense of adventure, but I care not.

Leave a Reply

 
