Lefthanders Day – 13th August

Lefthanders Day [a day which is meant to promote awareness of the inconveniences facing left handed people] is over in 19 minutes and I still have done nothing left handed related to celebrate the fact or even acknowledge it.  Until now….  Here is my new Crafted in Japan Fender left handed Telecaster (newly stringed today) that I bought about 2 months ago.  I got it in a pawn shop called Zack in Koenji.  I was so surprised walking into the cluttered store and to see this mounted on the wall at the back of the dusty shop above some old recording equipment.  I snapped it up a day later for a third of the cost price (I priced the same model in a left handed store in Ochanomizu in Tokyo – I was in guitar heaven here drooling all over the seriously expensive Gretsch guitars).  Quite the bargain really.  There is no real difference between this and the normal American models as far as I know although some guitar geeks will definitely have something to say about this no doubt.

Brief history:

  • 1982: Fender Japan starts production. The “Made in Japan” (MIJ) logo is used.
  • 1996/1997: Logo changed to “Crafted in Japan” (CIJ) when the manufacturing contract was taken over by a new company.

DSC03874

DSC03872

DSC03873

DSC03878

DSC03880

Check out the left handed products on sale here.  Left handed mugs!

~ by redegg on August 13, 2009.

4 Responses to “Lefthanders Day – 13th August”

  1. wooo go lefties!!

  2. Happy belated lefty day…funnily enough I remember you telling me when you bought this! Seems fitting to break it out on such an auspicious day!

  3. and it’s all over.

  4. Nice guitar.
    A friend of mine has a Made in Japan Strat.
    He also got it at a good price in a junk shop.
    He told me the differences between that and the Made in USA ones, but it’s slipped my mind…

Leave a Reply

 
