My August Soundtrack

This is what I have been listening to on my many walks around Tokyo and on trains.  I have had very busy ears this month and this is what I remember listening to from flicking through my Zen/Winamp.  My favourite is the excellent Wild Beasts album.  A must for fans of Elbow, Yeasayer, Grizzly Bear, BSP or Anthony.  An absolute cracker I got to say.  Other ones I really liked:  Fever Ray, Lemon`s Chair (Japanese shoegaze, I also attended their gig in Koenji which was excellent despite it only being 20 minutes long), The Dead Weather (will Jack White ever disappoint me?),  Simian Mobile Disco (Beth Ditto collaboration – that`s all I am saying).  I even dipped into J-rock territory which is actually not that bad afterall (Boom Boom Satellites).  I am not touching J-Pop though, I have tried and it`s just not happening.  There are some old favourites also listed that I always come back to:

PJ Harvey – Uh Huh her
Noah and the Whale – Peaceful the world lays me down
Pivot – O Soundtrack My Heart
Riceboy Sleeps – myspace
Simian Mobile Disco – Tempory Pleasures
Strokes – Room on Fire
The Dead Weather – Horehound
The Low Anthem – random assortment
Mars Volta – Amputechture
Wild Beasts – Two Dancers
YACHT – See Mystery Lights
Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Fever to Tell
!!! – Myth Takes
Experimental Dental School – Forest Field
The Horrors – Primary Colours
The Appleseed Cast – Low Level Owl
The XX – myspace songs
School of Seven Bells – Alpinisms
Girl Talk – Night Ripper
Lady Sovereign – Jigsaw
Phoenix – Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix
Nine Inch Nails – Broken EP
Lemon`s Chair – high showgazer compilation
Monocism – high shoegazer compilation
Melt Banana – Cell Scape
Neon Neon – Stainless Style (I forgot how good this was!)
Holy Roman Army – How the light gets in
Boom Boom Satellites – Full of Elevating Pleasures
Fever Ray – Fever Ray
Florence and the Machine – Lungs
Yo La Tengo – I am not afraid..

Like before, if anything interesting pops up at home let me know here!  Oh and enjoy Electric Picnic festival whoever is going.  I am jealous,  even though Dan Deacon did cancel.  It sounded like such an awful mess up really.  I hope it`s a corker.   There are a few music festivals popping up soon over here but the ticket prices are seriously going to dent my bank account!

~ by redegg on August 30, 2009.

One Response to “My August Soundtrack”

  1. Check out The Antlers – Hospice if you can find it.It’s a serious grower,I’m really liking it.Also The Dirty Projectors – Bitte Orca, it kind of gives me a headache sometimes because it makes no sense, but I think that will appeal to you and it is really good.I like that XX album too.getting Wild Beasts now, heard good things about it.

Leave a Reply

 
