Design Festa [art gallery/cafe/other]

DSC04515

An art gallery/chill out area/bar/cafe in Harajuku between Tokyo’s most popular hot spots, Shibuya and Shinjuku.  I have known about this place for some time now but never really got the chance to check it out as Harajuku always seems out of the way or the crowds there are just too much hassle sometimes.  I finally got to it last weekend even if I did completely stumble upon it by accident.  It’s bloody excellent and all free free free.  The gallery crew are hosting a HUGE art exhibition in lovely Odaiba on the 24th/25th of October.  I think I will be missing it which is a big sack of…..  More information on the event here in English.

It’s almost looks like one of those tacky Ghost houses you would find in Bray/Dublin.  I will be going back even if it is to sit on bean bags and eat some biscuits.  This place also reminded me of my visit to the insanely wacky Christiania in Copenhagan a few years ago without the drugs, paranoia and the police raids.  Here are some photos of my visit:

DSC04506

DSC04507

DSC04511

DSC04514

DSC04517

DSC04518

DSC04521

DSC04525

DSC04527

DSC04530

DSC04531

DSC04532

DSC04534

~ by redegg on September 16, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
