My September Soundtrack

dirty

Dirty Projectors

I was introduced to this band by the excellent David Shrigley who I discovered at the Tate in London so many years ago.  He released his brilliant Worried Noodles in 2007 which was a book of strange doodles and 2 compilation CDs of songs he digs.  This band features on the second CD.  It was worth the 20 or so euro for the doodle book alone.  Looking at the track listing again, it strange to see some bands and artists who were pretty unknown when it was released or bands I just never knew when I bought this.  I also remember winning tickets to a Dirty Projectors Whelans gig ages ago from City Discs [Dublin] and ended up not going to it for some reason – what a fool I was.  I remember a report suggesting about 10 people attended it…. oops.

Other things I am listening to (thanks for the Bombay Bicycle Club recommendation Cauls!):

  • The Temper Trap – Conditions
  • White Williams – Smoke
  • Pearl Jam – Backspacer
  • Bombay Bicycle Club- I Had The Blues But I Shook Them Loose
  • Cartridge – Enfant Terrible
  • Department of Eagles – In Ear Park
  • Fever Ray – Fever Ray
  • Franz Ferdinand – Tonight
  • Wild Beasts – Two Dancers
  • Gang Gang Dance – God’s Money
  • Matt and Kim – Matt and Kim
  • Melt Banana – Cell Scape
  • Pavement – Slanted and Enchanted
  • Simian Mobile Disco – Temporary Pleasure
  • Appleseed Cast – Low Level Owl
  • Wilco – Wilco
  • !!! – Myth Takes
~ by redegg on September 30, 2009.

2 Responses to “My September Soundtrack”

  1. Check out the Volcano Choir album if you can find it too, ambient post-rock style stuff with Bon Iver vocals.What’s not to like?!

  2. love that DP tune. much prefer their latest stuff, a lot less twiddly messing. i was having ideas of approaching you regarding transcontinental audio/visual collaboration the other day. any excuse for randomness.

Leave a Reply

 
