Thailand

Well,  after years of hearing people rave on about how good it was I finally got to see it all for myself.

My thoughts?

Bangkok – This place is the loudest place I have ever been.  It’s like Akihabra [Tokyo] but with added motorbike revs, incredibly high pitched whistling, black engine smoke pumped in your face, Thai people shouting at people and other noises that my head just could not register.  Too be honest, it was all a little hard to take in.  I thought there would be little culture shock going here from Tokyo but it definitely hit me.  Tokyo is organised, clean, expensive and safe.  Thailand is chaotic, cheap, has little security, no seat belts in cars and it’s filthy.  I ended up getting a sore right ear here and I am guessing it was from all the noise and bustle.  It’s not that dirty, just really really polluted.  On the other hand, the temple we visited was really nice [the reclining Buddha] despite being pestered to buy water or asked numerous times did I want to take a tour.  Bangkok is beautiful, polluted, loud and annoying.  I’m not giving up on Bangkok yet though, I plan to go back soon.

Koh Samui/Koh Tao – Well, this was nice!  Sandy beaches, great food and the peace and quiet I needed.  Tokyo can get a little too in your face sometimes and it was great to get a small break from it.  Don’t get me wrong here, I love Tokyo.  There were many things I did not get to try on these islands like diving, hiking or even rent a motorbike so I expect to have all 3 on my next Thailand itinerary.

Here are some photos!  More in my Picassa album here where I seem to be archiving most my adventures.

DSC04808

DSC04822

DSC04827

DSC04836

DSC04841

DSC04854

DSC04861

DSC04945

DSC04955

DSC04964

DSC04966

DSC04974

DSC04987

DSC04991

DSC05057

DSC05038

DSC04714

DSC04721

~ by redegg on October 15, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
