My October Soundtrack

FlamingLips

“What’s that noise?”, “Is that a guitar?”, “How do they do that?”, “Is that Karen O yelling in the background?”, “I wonder how they recorded this?”, “I love the Lips, why the hell am I talking to myself!?”… these are some of the questions I ask myself as I lie on my bed in the dark at 2am listening to the new Flamings Lips album on headphones before I go to sleep (maybe not the best time to listen to this as it will probably give most people nightmares)… I rarely analyze music so much but the Flaming Lips really intrigue me with their refreshing colourful approach to pretty much everything they do.  I was quite excited about this release as I heard their new direction was somewhat surprising.  They are still as energetic as ever on this but the mood is definitely a dark one.  It makes me wonder if the happiest man on the planet is actually OK.  The extended jams throughout Embryonic are just brilliant and I love getting completely lost amidst all the noise, the samples, the gritty psychedelic guitars and the strangeness that is coming into my head.  A wonderful, refreshing album I think and a nice change from their overproduced-squeaky-clean-but-still-very-good recent releases.  Top notch!  Now fingers crossed for a Tokyo show.

Here are some other things I have been listening to (some old favorites and some new):

  • A Place to Bury Strangers – Exploding Head
  • TV on The Radio – Return to Cookie Mountain
  • Volcano Choir – Unmap
  • White Williams – Smoke
  • Atlas Sound – Let the Blind…
  • Beach House – Beach House
  • Blondie – Parallel Lines
  • The Antlers – Hospice
  • Bombay Bicycle Club – I Had The Blues..
  • Dark Room Notes – We Love you Dark Matter
  • Deastro – Keeper’s
  • Polvo – Celebrate the New Dark Age
  • Stars of The Lid – The Tired Sounds..
  • Sunset Rubdown – Dragonslayer
  • Sunn O))) – Monoliths and Dimensions
  • Papier Tigre – myspace
  • Lymbyc Systym – myspace
  • Department of Eagles – In Ear Park
  • Dirty Projectors – Bitte Orca
  • Elliott Smith – From a Basement..
  • Late of the Pier – Fantasy Black Channel
  • The Dead Weather – Horehound
  • The Temper Trap – Conditions
  • The XX – xx
  • Múm – Sing Alone to Songs You Don’t Know
  • Pivot – O Soundtrack my Heart
  • The Radio Dept. – Lesser Matters
  • Radiohead – Kid A
  • School of Seven Bells – Alpinisms
  • Wild Beasts – Two Dancers
~ by redegg on October 31, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
