I know what I’m getting for Christmas.

When it comes to top of the range technology and general passion for gadgets, Japan wins.  I don’t think anyone can argue with that statement.  They are just crazy about it and it’s one of the things that I love about Tokyo (although Akihabra is terrible).  However… I really do get quite a shock when I bump into people using retro, out of date, battery powered (but always in perfect condition) toy-like products from the 80’s like below.  This is only one example.  A man vacuuming the tarmac outside Takao station last week.  Why?  I’m not too sure.  Brilliant, it looks like a jet pack to me.  Great uniform too don’t you think?

~ by redegg on November 23, 2009.

3 Responses to “I know what I’m getting for Christmas.”

  1. the title of this post disturbs me

  2. “I love vacuums” – maybe not that best three words to have together in a sentence alright!

  3. He looks like a motherfuckin’ ghostbuster!!

Leave a Reply

 
