Koenji fire

A restaurant fire (close to where I live) killed four people in my neighborhood last week.  Pretty big news and it even got national coverage.  I was curious how people would react to such a tragedy.  The Japanese (from what I can see) tend to avoid anything morbid or depressing so I was expecting the locals to just to ignore what happened and continue to live in their own little bubbles where everything is cute, fun and fluffy.  Although, it’s a little hard to ignore when the area smells of… well something very nasty and part of the shopping pal is noticeably burnt.  I was incredibly surprised when I passed the burnt out restaurant 3 days ago to find a shrine with a selection of flowers as well as ……

some unopened beer cans, some empty beer cans, some cigarettes, lighters, Sake, rice crackers, green tea and even some Pokey sticks.  I am not sure if this would be accepted in many places in Tokyo.  I know if it happened in Ireland there would be absolute uproar.  Personally, I thought it was a very nice thing to see after such a horrible tragedy.  It gives you a good idea of what to expect around Koenji I think.

~ by redegg on November 28, 2009.

2 Responses to “Koenji fire”

  1. Haven’t been down PAL since this happened.
    I mean to go in the next day or two.
    You’re right though, this type of tribute is defintely Koenji.

    I was actually going to that restaurant the night before it happened, but for some reason or another, went to a different place.
    Bit of a shock to see it on the news shortly after…

  2. Quite scary that! I never ate there. I am guessing it got mostly restaurant and izakya staff that went there after work? My housemate went missing for day after it so we were a bit worried! He was just in bed sleeping off a cold.

Leave a Reply

 
