My New Band > Walkie Talkie In The Cornfield

Walkie Talkie In The Cornfield (click here for songs)

It`s been a while since I mentioned my latest band/music project to anyone.  It was kind of pointless when you have nothing good to report.  But now I am ready unleash my band`s existence to the world.  According to my Google calendar our first practice was on September 7th in Shinjuku which was about 3 months ago.  A different approach/sound than my last band as I now play a Casio on some songs as well as guitar/sampler and Craig plays bass and a theremin now and again.  We hope to start playing some shows over the next few months which will be very exciting but quite challenging at the same time.  Tokyo is a big place and it`s absolutely flooded with bands (some good and some awful).  Maybe we will book a show of our own somewhere and fingers crossed for the Guns and Roses support slot in Tokyo Dome next month!

We have uploaded 2 songs to our brand spanking new myspace page that we recently recorded in our bedrooms.  We both worked on parts separately and then I put all the parts together on my laptop with some minor editing.  It was incredibly difficult to record guitars and vocals as the walls in my Japanese guesthouse are like cardboard so I needed to be very quiet and I did most the vocals in one take and fixed them up afterward in Adobe Audition.  It reminded me of recording some of my first bedroom demos in my home town with some glitchy software I acquired, a dodgy microphone and some cheap pedals.  Infinitely more fun and satisfying than recording studios.

oh, strange live video coming soon…

~ by redegg on November 29, 2009.

3 Responses to “My New Band > Walkie Talkie In The Cornfield”

  1. Sounding good Colin, looking forward to hearing more

  2. cheers! A messy live video is now streaming off the myspace page too.

  3. “Gums start to bleed” is great! Whoever thought you to play keys is a genius.

Leave a Reply

 
