Best of 2009 / Happy Christmas and New Year

I know, I know… more end of year lists.  It’s a bit early too but I won’t be anywhere near a computer for the next two weeks.  2009, for me it will always be remembered as the year I quit my job and spontaneously went to live in Tokyo/Japan, the swine flu outbreak and also the year of the sad and sudden death of Micheal Jackson.  I still remember the day I found out – It was all just a bit hard to believe but the BBC website soon confirmed my doubts.  A certain low light for many I guess.  Highlight?  I think (accidentally) ending up living in Koenji.  This place really is one of the best, friendliest, fun places in Tokyo and it’s right at my doorstep.

This will my first Christmas away and I am spending it in Thailand!  I am really looking forward the break even though I won’t be near family like I have for the past 24 years.  I guess it’s something everyone has to do at some stage.  A big thank you to my mates in Dublin and my family who sent me over an amazing boxes of goodies for my birthday and Christmas.  Cards, sweets, toys, party moustaches, cake, music, photos..  it really did feel like Christmas even though I am so far away from home.  I never planned on staying in Tokyo for Christmas day.  Apparently it’s just strange –  KFC chicken buckets, chocolate cake and a love hotel seems to the sequence of events.  Chocolate cake sounds great though!

Now the lists!

Favorite albums of 2009 (not all released this year, just what I have been listening to alot over the year):

Phoenix

I have liked Phoenix for many years now but this album was so much better that I expected.  An absolute blinder and it’s getting my number one spot.  Amazing pop songs, well thought out arrangements, great guitar riffage, great drums, distinctive vocals, great experimentation, heavy abrasive synths and cracking live too.  It just ticked all the boxes for me.

1.  Phoenix – Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix (2009)
2.  The Appleseed Cast – Low Level Owl Volume 1 (2001)
3.  Joanna Newsom – The Milk-Eyed Mender (2004)
4.  Wild Beasts – Two Dancers (2009)
5.  Flaming Lips – Embryonic (2009)
6.  Adebisi Shank – This is the album of a band called Adebisi Shank (2008)
7.  Lymbyc System – Shutter Release (2009)
8.  Departments of Eagles – In Ear park (2008)
9.  The Horrors – Primary Colours (2009)
10. Fever Ray – Fever Ray (2009)
11. Florence and the Machine – Lungs (2009)
12. Grizzly Bear – Veckatimest (2009)
13. Halfset – Another Way of Being There (2008)
14. Yeah Yeah Yeahs – It’s Blitz (2009)
15. Sonic Youth – The Eternal (2009)

Favorite Songs (random order):
1.  Phoenix – Love Like A Sunset (part 1 and 2)
2.  Low Anthem – The Horizon Is a Beltway
3.  Passion Pit – I’ve Got Your Number
4.  Lemons’ Chair – Sonar
5.  Stars of the Lid – Requiem for Dying Mothers (Part 1)
6.  Yo La Tengo – I Feel Like Going Home
7.  Antlers – Two
8.  Julian Casablancas – 11th Dimension
9.  Department of Eagles – No One Does It
10. Dark Room Notes – Let’s Light Fires
11. Crystal Antlers – A Thousand Eyes
12. Adebisi Shank – Oyasumi
13. Bombay Bicycle Club – Lamplight
14. Dirty Projectors – Stillness is the move
15. Simian Mobile Disco – Cruel Intentions

Top 5 concerts:

1. Girl Talk – Summer Sonic festval – 7/August
2. Beck – NHK hall – 24/March
3. Lightning Bolt – Fever – 15/November
4. Nine Inch Nails – Summer Sonic festival- 7/August
5. Adebisi Shank/Lite – Super Deluxe – 15/August

Top 5 places in Japan (that I have visited):

1. Osaka
2. Kyoto
3. Chichibu/Nagataro
4. Kamakura/Enoshima
5. Takao

My favorite student quotes from 2009:

me:  “Do you know where Ireland is?”
student (low level):  “Erm.. soccer..eh.. Robbie Keane…. Robbin hood!!??……… sausages!”

student (high level):  “Aliens? Sure, I believe in them.  Sure you guys people believe in some one called God. Same thing”

~ by redegg on December 19, 2009.

One Response to “Best of 2009 / Happy Christmas and New Year”

  1. Happy Christmas and belated Happy Birthday! Hope you’ve a great time in Thailand xx

Leave a Reply

 
