Nikko – 20th January

click for more photos in picassa

Nikko is one of the main touristy areas in Japan.  After Kyoto of course.  It’s renowned for it’s forests, views of the Alps and it’s great temple area as well as the famous hear no evil, see no evil, speak no evil monkey carvings (although, I just kept thinking of Gene Wilder being brilliant in the “Hear No Evil, See No Evil” movie).  I finally got the chance to go this week as my sister (who is visiting) was going so I tagged along to see what the fuss was.  To be honest, I did not expect much as I have seen hundreds of temples at this stage and I don’t think anything can top Kyoto’s Golden Temple or the Grand Palace area in Thailand.  My expectations were spot on.  They were nice but I have seen much better.  After some yakisoba and a very brief stop at the Nikko Beer Brewery (give it a miss if you go) we headed to the beautiful isolated Nikko Ogurayama Onsen (natural hot spring) in the middle of the countryside which was definitely the highlight and it was worth the trip alone.  A 30 minute trek into the country side and located behind some sort of barn and at the edge of a forest.  It was completely empty so I luckily got some photos which is not normally possible as people are naked and what not.  The indoor onsen holds about 10 people and the outdoor onsen holds about 6 and it faced the forest and a mountain topped with snow in the background.  Pretty amazing.  After that, we had some ice cream and beer in the onsen bar and then headed to our beds.  We stayed in the excellent Nikko Park Lodge.  Run by a friendly monk, warm fires, big sofas, blueberry cake, yoga classes, John Lennon and Yoko Ono live DVDs, great vegan food.. Just go!  It’s simply one of the nicest places I have had stayed in.  I would love to back here eventually.  The 3.5 hour train journey to work in Yokohama the next morning was not so nice.

Nikko Park Lodge Official site How I got here from Tokyo /  Ogurayama Onsen is 10 minutes north of the ice rink.

~ by redegg on January 22, 2010.

3 Responses to “Nikko – 20th January”

  1. nice scarf. blueberry cake! sounds like a magnificent place. looks like they even have erotica on the t.v. judging by the last picture 🙂

  2. Haha, yes I realized that after I took the photo.. Pretty raunchy stuff eh? We watched the John Lennon/Yoko Ono DVD after that! It’s was bloody insane! I feel a John Lennon phase coming on!

  3. Nice beard too Colin!

Leave a Reply

 
