Joanna Newsom – Tokyo – I can`t wait

I have seen some of my favourite artists play here since I arrived last March.  Beck and the Yeah Yeah Yeahs were big stand outs from my gig calendar.  However one of my favourtie artists of the past year and a bit, Joanna Newsom is visiting Tokyo early next month and it is also the last gig in Tokyo for me before I head off on my two week trip around Japan and then head home to Ireland.  I nearly wet my self when she announced her tour here so I snapped up a ticket for her 500 capacity show in Unit in yuppie paradise DaikanyamaShe is playing the following day in Waseda but I not sure what it is exactly.  I think it`s in an old house or something – I can`t find any information on this show.  This will be my first time seeing her and I have no idea what to expect so I am not going to get too excited just in case.  Her new album which is released next month is a triple disc which is a bit strange, so maybe each disc will have a theme or something!  I just hope she does not cancel her shows like she did last May!  pfft.  I am also heading to see Florence and the Machine a few days before this which I am now not so excited about as they have unfortunately gotten the Lady Gaga treatment over the past few months.  They seemed to have just exploded over here.  It`s kind of crazy how bands really make it big so fast.  I remember leaving a tent in September 2008 at Electric Picnic before Florence took to the stage and there was about 10 people there.  Strange eh!   

Here is Joanna`s Japanese tour –

2/6/10 Sunsui Osaka   Japan  
2/7/10 Unit Tokyo   Japan  
2/8/10 Scotthall Waseda Tokyo   Japan

Brand new song – `81 here on the Drag City homepage or youtube.  Ridiculously good.

~ by redegg on January 28, 2010.

2 Responses to “Joanna Newsom – Tokyo – I can`t wait”

  1. florence is a delight to watch, hope she doesn’t disappoint you. and leave gaga alone.

    p.s. you better come visit us all when you get home. drinks are in order. you’ll see how NOTHING has changed here. how depressing!

  2. Great to see my favorite harpist getting some respect!

    Speaking of Newsom, Roan Press’s “Visions of Joanna Newsom” book is now available for pre-ordering: http://www.roanpress.com/ourbooks.html

    You can see the blurbs at http://www.roanpress.com/news.html

Leave a Reply

 
