My January soundtrack

Patrick Kelleher

Thanks to some very nice birthday and Christmas presents from home, my January soundtrack features a healthy dose of new(ish) Irish albums that I have missed out on over the year.  One of them has been getting heavy rotation on my mp3 player –  Patrick Kelleher / You Look Cold.  I was vaguely familiar of the name before I left but never really heard any of his music.  To be honest, I just assumed he was another singer songwriter which I normally stay clear of.  Patrick is not your average Irish singer/ songwriter though, he seems to play every instrument ever invented and the result is one of the most interesting, darkest, synth driven records I have heard from an Irish artist in a long time if not ever.  “Wonder” is a real stand out track for me, completely stripped of glitchy electronics, drum machines and made entirely from a reverby vocal, an acoustic and some hissy background noise.  It`s really hard to stop listening to this.   He supports Channel One on the 19th of March in the Button Factory/Dublin which really is something to wet your pants about.

Some other things I have been listening to:

Polvo – In Prism
Silver Fins – Untitled
Beach House – Teen Dream (this is just brilliant! Norway is my favourite song of the year already)
HenParty – LADS!
Bear In Heaven – Beast Rest Forth Mouth
Sunken Foal – Fallen Arches
Miracle Fortress – youtube videos/myspace
Twinkranes – Specktrumtheatresnakes
Adrian Crowley – Season of the Sparks
Atlas Sound – Logos
Black Robots – Zero One
Cryuff In the Bedroom – Young and Blind
Crystal Antlers – Tentacles
Eels – Hombe Lobo
Late of the Pier – Fantasy Black Channel
Omar Rodriquez Lopez  – Xenophanes
Pains of Being Pure at Heart – TPOBPAH
Horse Shoes – The Imperial School
Hunter Gatherer – I dreamed I was a footstep..
Jinx lennon – Trauma Themes Idiot Times
Joanna Newsom – Ys
Bats – Red In Tooth and Claw
Friendly Fires – Friendly Fires

~ by redegg on February 4, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
