Hiroshima / 25th January

I could go on about how nice and relaxing Hiroshima is and how nice the people are but there is one thing that overshadows it all –  The Atomic Bomb.  The first city to be destroyed by a nuclear weapon [1945, August 16th, 8.15am].  I spent my first day wandering around the peace memorial park which was scattered with lots of monuments and the spooky remnants of the A-bomb Dome.  I took all my photos in black and white.  It was raining, cloudy, my feet were soggy, my umbrella was broke and I was standing at the hypocenter of the atomic bomb.  It seemed rather fitting.  I finished my day off with a trip to the Hiroshima Atomic Bomb Museum.  Incredibly disturbing and numbing stuff but glad I went.  It was the first museum where I heard people gagging and seeing people trying to hold back their tears…

~ by redegg on March 22, 2010.

One Response to “Hiroshima / 25th January”

  1. Photo is beautiful ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
